Blackberry cheesecake

Cheesecakes

Another day of summer, another sweet thing in my tummy; this time it’s a pink cheesecake with an Oreo base and lots of blackberries, because dessert is my “5 pieces of fruit/ day”. Actually, this one has forest fruits in it, so it counts, right?!

IMG_5260

I think cheesecake is one of my favorite desserts because it brings together the best of all worlds: crunchy chocolate-y base, fruity soft cheese cream that reminds me of the yogurt I was eating when I was little (Danonino, anyone?), syrup or jelly and of course, fresh pieces of fruit that balance out all the sweetness in the dessert. I choose to ignore the fact that it probably has a lot of calories and fats because I just can’t get on board with all the raw vegan no sugar no fun type of dessert that is trending now, sorry. I live by the principle “mo’butter, mo’ better” (Honey BooBoo reference).

IMG_5233-Recovered

Let’s talk a bit about this recipe; you’ll get 12 mini-cheesecakes if you place them in a regular muffin pan, or you can get a normal sized cheesecake if you prefer it that way. In my opinion, the smaller ones are easier to serve and everyone gets an equal part of the dessert, so you won’t hear the “my slice is smaller!” song.

You can use as many blackberries as you want- as you may see, I went nuts with them; the only thing that escaped the forest fruits frenzy was the cookie base, that is only made with Oreo and melted butter. The most time-consuming activity is sieving the blackberry juice (or at least, that was for me because I have one small strainer), but in the end it is worth it.

IMG_5229

IMG_5283

Final tips and tricks:

1. Don’t even think about melting less butter, unless you want a crumbly mess to happen.

2. Although it takes some time, it is better to sieve the blackberry juice that goes into the cream in order to get a softer cheese mixture.

3. You can keep the cheesecakes in the freezer for a shorter time, if you don’t want to wait all night for them to chill.

4. If you want your sauce to be thinner, add one-two spoons of water before boiling it for the second time.

5. Slow down and enjoy!

blackberry

mure

Leave a comment